Sonata (Flute and Piano)


Composer: Adler, Samuel

Sonata (Flute and Piano) by Samuel Adler (b. 1928), Published by Theodore Presser, Includes flute part and piano score, written in 2006, approx. 14 minutes long. 31 pages.

Commissioned by the Juilliard School of Music and premiered at the NFA convention on August 11, 2006 by the marvelous flutist Carol Wincenc, Adler’s new Sonata is a three-movement affair that begins “fast, agitated and rhythmic” from the start. A concert level work from one of the most honored composers of his generation.

Composed in 3 movements: 

I - Dialogue

II - Meditation

III - Scherzo-Finale