Free shipping on orders over $75! No code needed.

Cape May Breezes (Woodwind Quintet)


Composer: Dorff, Daniel

Cape May Breezes (Woodwind Quintet) by Daniel Dorff, Published by Theodore Presser Company.

Inspired by the quaint beach town at the southern tip of New Jersey, Dorff’s five-movement suite is a natural outgrowth of the composer’s blend of pastoral beauty, bubbling scherzos, and iridescent wind writing.

The movement titles depict a day in Cape May:

  1. Breezing Into Town (Exit 0)
  2. Autumn Monarch Migration (Fluttering Fields of Orange)
  3. Victorian Garden Party (Sarabande, Bourrée, Gigue)
  4. Dusk at Sunset Beach
  5. Night Breezes on the Boardwalk

Each movement of the 18-minute quintet may also stand alone for shorter programming needs. Cape May Breezes was written for and dedicated to Jenny Cline for The Monmouth Winds, who adds, "The music is filled with imagery and the audience will be able to hear the joyful beginning of a vacation, delicate fluttering butterfly wings, the musical entertainment at a party, a beautiful sunset and mournful Taps at a flag ceremony, and exploding fireworks after dark."

Clarinet in Bb
Horn in F

Commissioned by and dedicated to Jenny Cline for The Monmouth Winds